Leading Hotels of the World promotion … update

October 1st – I totally forgot about the hotel promotion. The days leading to the promotion I kept telling myself I should put the date in my blackberry and set the alarm. Laziness is my middle name and I put that task off. I get an email on Oct 1st saying the following:

We are deeply sorry for today’s disruption of the USD 19.28 sale. Demand for this promotion far surpassed our expectations, and due to the exorbitant amount of traffic to www.lhw.com/1928, we were unable to accommodate travel requests. Nonetheless, we intend on making every effort to honor the offer on a first come, first serve basis, and have devised a plan to enable you to apply for the USD 19.28 rate. (The Leading Hotels of the World, Ltd. makes no representation or guarantee that it will be able to fulfill your request.)

Attached to the email was a MS Word Document where I put my 1st, 2nd, and 3rd choice hotels along with my desired travel dates with strict instructions to mail it on October 2nd, starting at 5am(Phx time) and I will have only 80 minutes to complete the task.

I’m thinking to myself “Whew! There is still time.” I fill out the MS document and send it to tall three of my email address, as well as setting my alarm on both of my phones to wake me up at 4:45 so I can participate.

Later on that same day at 4:49pm, I receive another email from the hotel contest promoters stating they were postponing the contest due to concerns that the email method might not be as successful as they predict. I was told not to bother sending my email the next morning as it will be blocked and to stay tuned for a future announcement about the promotion. “We are sincerely committed to restoring your faith in our brand and do not want to risk disappointing you again. We are working tirelessly to develop a solution that will be fair for you and all registered participants. We will email you next week with further details.”

All this trouble for $20 a night hotel room.

This entry was posted in good deals, hotels. Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts...

