Come up with a budget and stick with it


Let me tell you, E and a few other people were not too thrilled with my resolution to travel every month. My personal budget is not so great. I’m told I really should not be traveling at all based on my current financial situation. I’m sorry. I just cannot give up on travel. Especially when my closest friends and family is clear across the other side of the country. I literally go through withdrawals. When I do, I make stupid decisions like skipping out on the cell phone bill this month so I can afford the airline ticket home.

* bows head in shame *

*perks head back up!* I have no regrets. Life is short. Verizon can wait another month while I spend time with my babies or celebrate a friend’s birthday. Besides, I’ve turned down far too many potential trips due to the money thing. This year – most of my trips will be planned and budgeted in advance. I’m on a roll with this D.C. trip. My biggest travel expense, transportation, has been paid for as a result of birthday and Christmas gifts.

I’m inspired by this article I read on the Washington Post: The $2009 Getaway Challenge. Three travel writers had a budget each of $669.66. One of them went to Vegas. Another tested his limits in Florida and the last took it easy in West Virginia. I am already in planning mode for next month’s NYC trip. I’m going to set a budget, put all of the funds in a gift card and use that card ONLY for the trip. When I run out, I run out. For NYC, three nights, airfare, possible one night stay in hotel, food, and other various activities, I’m going to estimate the entire trip at $550.13. The thirteen cents is there because that’s my favorite number.

I’ll keep ya posted.

image source

This entry was posted in for your reading pleasure, NYC, travel planning. Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts...

