Why are airfares so cheap now? *EDITED*

*EDITED* Check out this article that talks to this very topic.

It’s not because of the recession – – although the current state of our economy does play a role.

Passenger traffic is down over 10% compared to last year. As a result Airlines have grounded planes and reduced capacity. Business travel has dropped and these group of travelers make up a huge percentage of airline’s profits. With less business travelers flying or purchasing business class tickets, airlines are slashing prices in efforts to get your money.

Story long short – – it’s a buyers market. Cash in!

Jetblue is having a crazy sale. Prices as low as $39 bucks. I love this sale but it’s still too expensive to go home to Buffalo.

Note to airlines – – Hello… Phoenix – Buffalo… cheap… Please?

USAirways
hears my pleas because the cheapest ticket I’ve brought to go home was $84 bucks. You cannot beat that with a stick.

If I wanted to go to LA right now, Southwest will let me get away for $49.

Frontier Airlines is upping the ante and offering fares as low as $39. I can escape to Denver for $59.

Not to be outdone, United.com is featuring “The great flyaway sale”. I can fly to Chicago for a cool $79.

If I had a comfortable cushion in the bank, I’d purchase tickets for:

  • A trip home in May, June, September, October, and December – gotta watch my babies grow!
  • A trip to CT to meet my friend’s new born baby girl
  • Tickets for E and I celebrate his birthday during the Essence Festival in New Orleans
  • Fly away to a tropical destination for our birthday cruise
  • Celebrate the wedded bliss of a very good college friend in August
  • Escape to Seattle to celebrate my 29th with my girlfriends. No boyfriends allowed.

Right now all I have to my name is a dollar and a dream. If you go the cash reserves, cash in on these sales. Do pay attention to the fine print. A lot of these prices are good if you travel on Tuesday or Wednesday and stay overnight on Saturday.

This entry was posted in airlines, good deals. Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts...

