What I learned during my recent trip

San Diego

* I can never grow tired of that city. Every time I visit, there is always a new place to try.

* There is no such thing as “too much beach time”.

* Travel with people who enjoy the beach and sun as much as I do. Those who can’t stand the beach for longer than an hour are truly vacation buzzkills.

* I must drink water. Lots of it. One sip of alcohol and I’m dehydrated and the migraines start. Another vacation buzzkill.

* Traveling with a group of people can be a drag. If arranging such trips, keep them short. Two-four days is sufficent.

* Unless I’m travel with a group of people that I’m highly compatible with, then go ahead, book longer stays but no more than 5-6 days. I get sick of people easily.

* Withdraw all the money you intend to spend on the trip and not a penny more. Document all expenses in my blackberry notepad to keep track. When I am out of cash, I’m out of luck. This plan worked really well for me this time around.

* The beach is the most funnest, cheapest, way to spend the entire day doing something fun without spending very little money.

* Jumping pictures are so much fun to take.

* Paying $220 per night ($170 my share for 3 days) for a vacation home on the beach is not the business. Especially when you hardly spend much time in the home.

* Paying the same above amount to hear the ocean crashing against the rocks every morning when you wake and every night before you sleep is sooo the business.

* I gotta start charging folks for my itinerary creation services. Hours of research and not utilizing my efforts is a waste of my precious time.

* Shopping cures all blues (I knew this already)

* Traveling with E has always been fun. Traveling with E and has family puts me in the fifth wheel. Sometimes I didn’t mind. I’ll just make a mental note to not make this kind of excursion a frequent thing.

This entry was posted in what I learned. Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts...

