Best of 2009: December 1 – 5

I’m challenging myself to recall the Best moments of 2009. My mind blanks out at some of the questions and I found myself scrolling thru 2000 pictures stored in my digital camera trying to recall just what the heck I’ve done all year. The answer: not nearly enough!

December 1: Best Trip



This is a no brainer. Obama’s Inauguration. It was fun, exhilarating, and oh, so cold. Major props for my girl, Alesia for hooking me up with the tickets to get in the gate. I’d do everything all over again: The 3am wake up call, standing in the freezing cold, frozen toes, crowded metro, chanting: “Obama, Obama“, the people, the screams… oh my!

December 2: Restaurant moment


Three words: White Chocolate Grill. I took E there for his birthday and we had the most amazing tomato-gin soup. It took a lot of restraint on our part to not lick the bowl in the restaurant. We loved it so much, we ordered two more bowls to go and ate it again later that night.

December 3: Article
I’ve mentioned this article a couple months ago on this blog post based on a best seller titled: “Not Quite What I Was Planning”. I’ve yet to check the book out and the six word memoir I came up with was corny. I going to need to revisit that and come up with one that is a better description of my life. It would be cool if I figured this out before the end of 2009 but I’m not going to set myself up for a goal I probably won’t fulfill by year’s end.

December 4: Book
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows – I know this book came out like two years ago and it has been sitting on my bookshelf since. I finally got around to reading the final book of the series this year. I cannot sum into words what this book has done to me. So many questions answered, so many new questions arisen, and the ending: W-O-W, but what the hell is up with that epilogue?!

December 5: Night Out
I could probably think of maybe less than 5 nights out with the girls that just woke up something inside of me. Lisa Pizza will probably recall a moment after New Year’s (2003?) after a night of drama and dancing, I ended it all by taking a long, slow, drag of a cigarette in a devil-may-care kinda way.
But I digress. What happened in 2009? It wasn’t a night out. It was a night in. With my family in Maryland during my sister’s graduation party. My parents brought a bottle of champagne and it was my step-mom first taste of champagne ever! Watching her savor every sip (and getting more and more inebriated in the process) just brings a smile to my face. That night was the last night I was together with both of my parents in their home before they decided a few weeks later to sell the house, move into separate apartments and divorce after 20 plus years of marriage.

… to be continued

This entry was posted in Best of 2009, random rambles. Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts...

