I’m ready to play! First stop: MetroCooking Event

One of the biggest perks about my new hometown is that now I have more entertainment options. The east coast is always rocking with cool parties and events. None of the cool kids ever came to Phoenix to play. No, seriously, they didn’t. It sure would have been nice if the Food Network event featuring my Neelys came to Arizona once in a while.

I digress…

Now that I’m here, I’m ready to play and I got a couple events on my social calendar that I want to check out.


First on my list is the Metropolitan Cooking & Entertainment show. When my honorary sister shared the details with me about the event, I was totally down. Those of you who know me personally knows that food and entertainment is right up my alley. My idea of a good time is hitting up my local wineries, attending cooking demonstrations, and hosting monthly dinner parties at my studio apartment trying out new recipes.

So I’m super stoked about this event! For $20 I get to be in the same building as Bobby Flay, Paula Deen, and Rachael Ray and check out over 300 food, wine, and entertainment exhibitors. For $65 I get access to exclusive text events such as a cocktail demo with Todd Thrasher. (You know I’m all about the likka and creating the perfect drink.) The $65 ticket price includes the general admission.

Count me in!

Here are some additional details about the event in case you’re in the area and like to check it out:

FAVORITE FOOD NETWORK STARS HEADLINE
THE 2010 METROPOLITAN COOKING & ENTERTAINING SHOW

Paula Deen, Bobby Flay, Rachel Ray plus DC chefs showcase their culinary skills

Washington, DC (October 3, 2010) – On November 13 and 14, 2010, the Metropolitan Cooking & Entertaining Show will return to the Washington Convention Center for it’s fifth year with special events featuring Food Network and Cooking Channel stars and DC-based chefs hosting cooking demonstrations. The show takes place from 10 am to 7 pm, Saturday, November 13 and 10 am to 5 pm on Sunday, November 14.

In addition to appearances by headliners Paula Deen, Bobby Flay and Rachael Ray, the show will offer cooking demonstrations by award-winning local and national chefs, a food and wine pairing with Chef Carla Hall & the Wine Coach® Laurie Forster, Cocktails with Todd Thrasher, Savvy Holiday Entertaining with Tara Wilson, product sampling and sales from 300+ exhibitors, the Beef Check Off Tastings and Entertaining workshops, the Just for Kids cooking area, and a beer, wine and spirits tasting pavilion.

General admission tickets are $20 in advance and $25 on-site. Children ages 4 – 12 are $10 in advance and $13 on-site. Children 4 and under are free. General admission includes demonstrations and entertaining presentations on the exhibit floor. Additional tickets are required for the feature presentations in Celebrity Theater, the Food & Wine Pairing, Cocktails with Todd Thrasher, Savvy Holiday Entertaining with Tara Wilson, Just for Kids Interactive Cooking Area, and the Beer, Wine & Spirits Tasting Area.

DC area chefs presenting culinary demonstrations include:
Chef Victor Albisu, BLT Steak
Chef Cathal Armstrong & Todd Thrasher, Restaurant Eve, Eammon’s, The Majestic
Chef Arthur Cavaliere, Central Michel Richard
Chef Scott Drewno, The Source by Wolfgang Puck
Chef Todd Gray, Equinox
Chef Carla Hall, Alchemy Caterers & Top Chef Season 5 Contestant
Chef Mike Isabella, Graffiato & Top Chef Season 6 Contestant
Chef Ramon Martinez, Jaleo
Chef Clayton Miller & Pastry Chef Chris Ford, Trummer’s On Main
Chef Patrice Olivon, L’Academie de Cuisine
Pastry Chef Travis Olson, 1789 Restaurant
Chef Paul Stearman, Marcel’s
Chef Nicholas Stefanelli, Bibiana

For more information about the show and to purchase tickets, please visit http://www.metrocooking.com

Stay tuned for event pics!

.

This entry was posted in DC, event, food, wine. Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts...

