Daytrip: Vintage Piedmont Winery Region

The BFF and I took advantage and purchased a recent online deal for wine tasting, cheese plate, and drinking glasses at five wineries in the Piedmont Winery Region in Northern Va. It was a perfect Saturday, until I gave her directions to a winery in the opposite direction, thus extending/canceling our road trip.

Let me start from the beginning.

The area is about an hour and half from the metro DC area. Give or take. I directed the GPS to take us to the vineyard that was the furthest out and then we’ll back track from there. Our first stop was at Rappahannock Cellars. This is a beautiful property with a barn on site, lush grass, lots of picnic tables and a patio for relaxing.

Upon arrival, we were warmly greeted by Andy, who quickly had his team whip up this delicious cheese plate for us. See that green cheese there? Yea… that was really good!

Rappahannock had some great wines. Evidenced by all the awards displayed on site. I can’t share my tasting notes because I left them in the bag of wine glasses, that I mistakenly left at the BFF’s apartment. After our tasting session was completed, we each ordered a glass of our favorite wine and headed out the patio to enjoy our wine with the lunch I’ve prepared.

Here are the results of the Lemony-Lentil Salad. It was a winner and very filling. I had to make some tweaks to the original recipe.

1) At the last minute I was forced to purchase rice. Whole Foods provided two choices: Brown or Bamboo rice. The bamboo was a green color and I thought that would be visually appealing.
2) Surprisingly, there was no lentil beans available at the salad bar. Instead we choose a 5 bean salad to compliment. No complaints there. Hardly missed the lentil.
3) The recipe calls to make your own dressing from scratch. I pulled a ‘Sandra Lee’ and cut corners by purchasing a bottle of ready made dressing. Again, a winner.

I also made a veggie sandwich and cut up fresh watermelon with mint. The mint came thru strongly after sitting for a few hours. Was sooo refreshing.

That’s the first winery we’ve visited and we really liked it a lot and already vowed to return. As much as we wanted to stay, we left to visit two more vineyards before calling it a day. I’ll share those two in the next posts.

The Piedmont area is so lush and beautiful! Heading up the road to the next winery.
To be continued…. 
This entry was posted in day trip, DC, places to check out, road trip, wine. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Daytrip: Vintage Piedmont Winery Region

  1. Pat says:

    Nice Blog Jaz,

    Pictures look good, cheese looks great. I know I would have loved the GREEN one. lol

Share your thoughts...

