Packing light… or at least attempting to do so

I’m an expert at packing. No, seriously. I can fit at least two weeks worth of clothes in a carry on luggage. This is mostly due to color coordinating my outfits and rolling up each piece of clothing into small tubes or balls to maximize luggage space. I usually travel with no less than 4 pairs of shoes. One trip, I took 6. Hey, I like options! 

Last weekend when I went to Ocean City with the family, I attempted to pack even lighter! Meaning I was able to stuff 7 outfits and three bathing suits in a tote bag. This also includes my toiletries and unmentionables. In a cooler bag, I packed my shoes and books. When I got to my condo, I just emptied the shoes/books and used the cooler on the beach as planned. 
Even still with all that, I over packed. While in Ocean City, I was either in my bathing suit or my pajamas. I really didn’t need all those extra clothes. As for the shoes, mostly I wore my flip flops. 
Hmm… it got me thinking…. 
This weekend I’m heading to Savannah for a quick weekend trip with the BFF. Again, our agenda will be simple. Just beach and lots of restaurants with a bit of sight seeing. I won’t need to pack 5 outfits. In fact, my plan is to pack whatever I can fit into my book bag. I will also bring a small tote that will include my laptop and camera. The tote will also double as a purse during my daytime excursions. 
I’m leaving a lot of stuff behind and reducing to this:
2 bathing suits
2 summer dresses
1 jean w/ long sleeve shirt
Pajama
toiletries
unmentionables
2 shoes (flip flop and wedges) 
Camera/laptop/blackberry/charger 
That’s it. 
To be honest, I’m really giving myself an epic *side eye* but I’m really going to try and attempt this. 
What essentials must you take with you for a weekend getaway? A sista wants to know…. 
This entry was posted in challenge, reading pleasure, travel planning, Travel tip. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Packing light… or at least attempting to do so

  1. Joey says:

    Well, my friend I applaud your efforts :) impressive.. If perhaps you got a Android or even *cough* an Iphone you could leave behind the laptop.. However I suspect your gonna say you need the laptop for work ?

    Safe travels!

    Joey

Share your thoughts...

