Travel Necessity: Long Johns

It’s a little over a year since I’ve relocated to the East from Phoenix. I’ve been … “okay” with the cold temps. I don’t like it but I try not to complain because it’s a non factor compared to the real reason why I’ve made the decision to move.

To keep my complaints to a minimum, I have got to make some wardrobe changes. Time to look into investing in a quality pair of long johns.

http://www.orvis.com

On my recent Southwest Airlines flight, it was cold on the plane. COLD! Despite full jeans, double socks, and full jacket/scarf/gloves, I had an uncomfortable plane ride.

Next time that won’t happen. I have been hipped to silk long johns.

http://www.wintersilks.com/

Oh, this ish is about to change. my. life.

I already know it. I’ve been doing some research because I really was curious as to how a fabric as thin as silk can truly keep a body warm during the coldest of temps. Many forums I visited gave pure silk or pure wool long johns high marks. I’m going with silk because the thinner fabric is necessary as I don’t always like to feel bulky when I’m layering up.

Once I get a pair of these on my body, no more shivering at airports or during bus rides. At least that’s what I’m hoping. I’ve also have taken to leaving my travel blanket at home in effort to pack less so I’m hoping the long johns will fix this issue too.

I’ll keep you posted.

.

This entry was posted in Gotta have it, Just words, travel accessories. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Travel Necessity: Long Johns

Share your thoughts...

