Summer2012: Beach

I’ve only been to the beach ONCE this summer. Total and utter blasphemy! But at least it was a nice beach. Out of the country. The BFF and I made last minute trip plans. By last minute, I mean 3 weeks.

I found a really good airfare deal on Kayak. I booked my ticket. Texted the BFF and demanded she book her ticket too. After looking at her calander she realized she had an appointment she could not miss. I changed my ticket to accommodate her schedule. Once the dust settled, the count down began.

I’ll let the photos tell the rest of the story:

20120917-234215.jpg

We got up at 4am to make it to the airport. We look hella good sleepy.

20120917-234327.jpg

We had a layover in Phoenix. We noshed on Mexican food.

20120917-234419.jpg

By the way… this was all I packed. 3 bathing suits, 3 dresses, 3 shoes and a couple of essentials. Of course the iPad and camera came along for the ride as well.

20120917-234655.jpg

We stayed at the Pueblo Bonito Resort. It was okay. I loved that it was all inclusive and it was on a private beach. The property is spacious, yet cozy. Grounds are well kept and the staff was very accommodating.

A few downsides: Kids were there. I was told that the kids (families) don’t start to arrive for another few weeks. It is a timeshare resort. I don’t know but I feel some type of way about that. The biggest drawback is everything on this property closes by 11pm. So the BFF couldn’t really party or enjoy the pool after hours (when the kiddos are in bed). They shut everything down!

Me No Gusta.

That alone is the reason why I won’t go back to that specific property. I’m not a party animal but dang, a sista like options!

Moving on…

20120917-235147.jpg

This was the amazing view from our balcony. I read on Yelp reviews to request the top floor for the best ocean views. The resort is only 5 stories high. Not only did we score top floor, we scored dead center of resort property for maximum viewing. I enjoyed waking up to this view every morning.

20120917-235440.jpg

I ate this for breakfast every.single.morning. Fried tortilla, green sauce, queso, red onion and sour cream. Just looking at this picture is making my mouth salivate. Sooooo good!

20120917-235613.jpg

This is all we did the entire trip. We was serious about that tan. BFF was reading the entire 50 Shades of Grey series on her iPhone. *side eye*

20120917-235728.jpg

At one point, we couldn’t get in our room. After numerous attempts with several keys, it was determined there was something wrong with the key thingy. Maintenance took a good hour to figure out how to open our door. We just went to lunch while they figured it out.

Speaking of lunch: we ate soooo much food! I already shared one of my favorite dishes above. Here are a few additional highlights:

.

20120927-212603.jpg

Guac & chips. Every. Single. Day. Sadly, the BFF was sick of Guac by the end of the vacation. Which was shocking since guac is one of her favorite appetizers.

20120927-212718.jpg

Refried beans. I cannot stand refried beans. These American-Mexican restaurants make that stuff like like poop. But over in Mexico, they did that stuff right. Party in my mouth. Flavorful with a hint of spice and the texture was not at all gross. Yea. I can only eat refried beans in Mexico from here on out.

20120927-213037.jpg

Mexico was beautiful, quiet, and simple. I’m glad I had a positive first visit. I’ll return to the country again. Next on my list is Puerto Vallarta and Cozumel. In that order!

.

This entry was posted in beach, reviews, vacation. Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts...

