Creating New Friendships: Foodie Penpals

20130401-135045.jpg

A while ago, I stumbled upon Nae’s blog and saw a button for Foodie Penpals. What?! Where has this been all my life?! After scrolling thru the site, I was in love and signed up within minutes.

Early March, I was assigned my first Foodie PenPal: Natalie of “In Natalie’s Shoes”.  I’m tickled to learn she’s into travel and food like I am.  More on the goodies I sent Natalie in a moment.

However, my package came from Athena. Love her blog name: “Fitness and Feta.” I love that you get to make two new friends each month out of this interaction! Athena reached out to me and requested my foodie preferences. I briefly mentioned that I was a pescatarian and I loved ginger & cherries. Last week after I came home from BlissDom, a package was waiting for me.

20130401-140340.jpg

My goodies from Athena
http://www.fitnessandfeta.com

The first thing I pulled out of the box was the bag of chocolate covered cherries. Chocolate AND cherries?! Yes, ma’am! *shimmy shake*  I also got some seasoning & flavored olive oil, which Athena mentioned in her note thought will compliment my fish dishes. She’s right! Tonight I have a hot date with a plate of salmon & asparagus. I can’t wait to use these while cooking.

I was pleased to also get a gift set of 4 different ginger flavored marmalades.  The small size is perfect for me to take on my travels or keep in my purse. Don’t lie. I know I’m not the only one that keeps condiments in their bag as a “just in case” when dining out.

Thank you, Athena for my goodies! My first foodie penpal experience is off to a fun start.

Back to Natalie: I reached out to her and we chatted briefly. I’m tickled to learn she lives in Napa. Yes! THAT Napa. As as wine lover, how come I have not been there yet?!

After reading her blog, It didn’t take me long to learn that she has a weakness for Thai food and chocolate. Two weeks ago, I sent her my package and waited with bated breath for her explanation.

*Excited Squeals*

She loved EVERYTHING I sent her! Check out her reaction here.

I’m so excited this small gesture brings so much joy. (I’m not being cheesy, it’s true) I already signed up for next month’s pal. Interested in joining? Click here for more details.

(P.S. I owe you guys a post about the Chuao chocolate. Last summer I divorced Vosges and now Chauo and I are current lovers.) 

*swoon* 

 

This entry was posted in food. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Creating New Friendships: Foodie Penpals

  1. Yay! I’m so glad that the goodies I sent you allowed for a great first Foodie Penpals experience. Enjoy that dinner! :)

  2. Nae says:

    Yay! What a great package…those ginger marmalades sound divine and I love all things olive oil :) Isn’t this such a brilliant idea?

Share your thoughts...

