Canola Oil vs. Olive Oil

Last week I spied some plantains on sale at my local grocery store. Before settling in for a movie, I decided to make a batch to munch on. The last time I fried plantains, I used way too much oil and it was a hot, greasy mess. That was a few years ago.

This time, I poured just enough to cover the bottom of the pan. I was curious to find out if plantains taste better fried in canola oil or olive oil.

20130410-171444.jpg

Fried in canola oil

The above batch was fried in canola oil. It took a while to heat up, but once hot, the plantains cooked quickly, within five minutes.

20130410-171459.jpg

Fried in olive oil.

A few days later, I was craving them again, this time with my morning coffee. I decided to slice them length wise for easy munching. The olive oil heated up fast but took longer to brown. I’m pretty sure it’s because I sliced it differently than the first batch and  required frequent turns to brown all the way around. Another surprise: the plantains were a lot more greasier. Still delicious, though.

My vote is for canola oil.

How do you fry your plantains?

This entry was posted in food. Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts...

