My Week (and a half) in Review

I love this time of the year. Flowers are blooming. Weather gets warmer and my DC social life amps up a few notches. I had a fun week and a half. Too much fun that I don’t have time to blog about it but I can share a few snapshots.

20130429-184401.jpg

I had the pleasure of volunteering a few hours for The Winery at Olney pouring samples during the Decanter Wine Festival. Sooo much fun!

20130429-184424.jpg

While at Decanter, this cracked me up. A guy decided to store some of wine purchases in his (or his wife’s??) rain boots.

20130429-184451.jpg

I may or may not have ordered a double portion of these panko crusted leek croquettes. Yum!

Discovered a new restaurant. Ambar located in Barracks Row, DC. Great happy hour prices, although the options left little to be desired. The bartender was super friendly, so I’ll def be back.

20130429-184508.jpg

Woke up at 5am to see a huge moon setting outside my window. Awesome view and high in the sky. Came back from the bathroom and caught the last glimpse of it as it disappeared into the horizon.

20130429-184523.jpg

Took a spontaneous trip home to see my family. Made the decision at 11:17am. Packed my iPad, toothbrush, and clean underwear. I was on the Marc by 12:20pm.

20130429-184546.jpg

Upon arrival at home, my sister and I arranged this romantic setup for my grandparents in their suite at a Bed and Breakfast.

20130429-184606.jpg

The main reason I took my spontaneous trip home was to see my baby sister off to her senior prom. I’m soooo proud of the young lady she has become.

20130429-184625.jpg

Sisters are a blessing! Here’s all of us sharing a silly moment before hitting the road back to DC.

20130429-184732.jpg

Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast has two doves on site in their dining room. I *gushed* at the two baby doves nesting below the parents.

20130429-184741.jpg

More birds: During sunset I spied a family of geese swimming. At one point one of the mother geese and the 2 babies started swimming towards the left. The father geese decided he wasn’t going that way and started swimming the opposite direction. After a minute or two, when the 3 discovered the father wasn’t behind them, they quickly paddled towards his direction.

20130429-184751.jpg

I’m not quite sure how I ended up at a Bluegrass & Folk festival in DC. It was… interesting. I love that DC offers a diverse range of events for all lifestyles and tastes.

20130429-184800.jpg

I took a moment to appreciate nature’s beauty.

20130429-184814.jpg

Ended my weekend with a girl’s nite in with one of the BFF’s. We sipped on B!tch wine while noshing on guacamole. The wine was definitely appropriate for our B!tch session as we chatted about our favorite subject: men.

What was the highlight of YOUR week? Share with a Sista in the comments. Also follow me on Instagram: Jazzy Jonez

This entry was posted in event, food, travel, wine. Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts...

